Skip to content
iGaming Ontario
en-ca GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. More Sports

World Cup of Darts: Start date, format, how to watch and the latest odds

The World Cup of Darts is set to return in June and this year's event is a revamped format with more teams and new nations coming to the party.  

The team event, again set to be held in Germany this year, has been expanded from 32 to 40 sides and, in what is likely to be the most important change, countries will now only compete in a pairs format. 

A group-stage round has been introduced into the tournament, with the qualifying teams moving onto a knockout competition. 

The expansion to 40 teams will see Iceland, Ukraine and Bahrain make their World Cup debuts, while the Australian pair of Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock will be hoping to make a successful defense of the crown they claimed in Frankfurt last year.

Here's everything you need to know about the 2024 event...

When is the World Cup of Darts?

The World Cup of Darts takes place between Thursday, June 15 to Sunday, June 18, 2023. The event is a key part of the PDC’s summer schedule.

Where is the World Cup of Darts being held?

The World Cup of Darts will be hosted in Frankfurt’s Eissporthalle, the same venue which hosted the competition on five occasions previously.

The tournament has taken place in Germany in all but two of its 12 editions, with the first event in 2010 taking place in England and the 2020 version in Salzburg, Austria.

How to watch the World Cup of Darts?

This year's World Cup of Darts will be screened live on DAZN.

How many times has the World Cup of Darts taken place?

This will be the 13th staging of the competition since its inception in 2010. 

The Netherlands duo of Co Stompe and Raymond van Barneveld beat Wales 4-2 in the first ever final, whilst Aussie pair Heta and Whitlock lifted the trophy most recently. 

How often is the World Cup of Darts?

The World Cup of Darts takes place annually, usually in June.

Who has won the World Cup of Darts on the most occasions?

Both England and Netherlands have won the World Cup of Darts on four occasions, more than any other nation.

However, after the pair’s early successes in which they shared the first eight tournaments between them, neither country has won any of the last three editions.

England have reached six finals, while the Netherlands have managed to make five. Scotland are next on the list of most successful nations with four finals appearances and two victories.

Heta and Whitlock defeated Wales in Frankfurt last year and Scottish duo Peter Wright and John Henderson took home the trophy after beating Austria 3-1 in the 2021 final.

The only other side to win the World Cup of Darts were last year’s beaten finalists Wales, when Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton got the better of England in 2020.

Which teams are seeded for the World Cup of Darts?

The top four nations based on combined Order of Merit rankings will be seeded to the second round, while the next twelve nations will be seeded in the group stage.

That means England, Netherlands, Wales and Scotland will take up the four seeded positions, with the following nations being seeded for the group stage:

Northern Ireland
Czech Republic

How are the pairs picked?

The PDC selects the two players who will make up each country's pair. 

Typically they are the two highest ranked players from that nation on the PDC Order of Merit - but there can on occasions be exceptions.

What are the confirmed teams for the World Cup of Darts?

Australia - Damon Heta, Simon Whitlock 
Austria - Mensur Suljovic, Rowby-John Rodriguez 
Bahrain - Basem Mahmood, Abdulnasser Yusuf 
Belgium - Dimitri Van den Bergh, Kim Huybrechts 
Canada - Matt Campbell, Jeff Smith 
China - Xiaochen Zong, Lihao Wen 
Croatia - Boris Krcmar, Romeo Grbavac 
Czech Republic - Adam Gawlas, Karel Sedlacek 
Denmark - Vladimir Andersen, Benjamin Drue Reus 
England - Michael Smith, Rob Cross 
Finland - Marko Kantele, Paavo Myller 
France - Thibault Tricole, Jacques Labre 
Germany - Gabriel Clemens, Martin Schindler 
Gibraltar - Craig Galliano, Justin Hewitt 
Guyana - Norman Madhoo, Sudesh Fitzgerald 
Hong Kong - Man Lok Leung, Lok Yin Lee 
Hungary - Patrik Kovács, Levente Sárai 
Iceland - Vitor Charrua and Hallgrímur Egilsson 
India - Prakash Jiwa, Amit Gilitwala 
Italy - Michele Turetta, Massimo Dante 
Japan - Jun Matsuda, Tomoya Goto 
Latvia - Madars Razma, Dmitriy Zhukov 
Lithuania - Darius Labanauskas, Mindaugas Barauskas 
Netherlands - Michael van Gerwen, Danny Noppert 
New Zealand - Ben Robb, Warren Parry 
Northern Ireland - Brendan Dolan, Daryl Gurney 
Philippines - Christian Perez, Lourence Ilagan 
Poland - Krzysztof Ratajski, Krzysztof Kciuk 
Portugal - Jose de Sousa, Luis Ameixa 
Republic of Ireland - William O’Connor, Keane Barry 
Scotland - Peter Wright, Gary Anderson 
Singapore - Paul Lim, Harith Lim 
South Africa - Devon Petersen, Vernon Bouwers 
Spain - Jose Justicia, Tony Martinez 
Sweden - Dennis Nilsson, Oskar Lukasiak 
Switzerland - Stefan Bellmont, Marcel Walpen 
Thailand - Attapol Eupakaree, Yong Gaweenuntavong 
Ukraine - Vladyslav Omelchenko, Illia Pekaruk 
USA - Jules van Dongen, Leonard Gates 
Wales - Gerwyn Price, Jonny Clayton

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $100 in Bet Credits

Join Now

Deposit required. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of qualifying bet. Returns exclude Bet Credits wager. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.