Skip to content
iGaming Ontario
GO TO bet365 Sports
The prize in the NHL Draft this year looks significant
  1. NHL

All Time Longest NHL Winning Streaks

The Edmonton Oilers fell one win short of tying the all-time record for the longest winning streak in NHL history.

Connor McDavid and Co. have long since smashed the previous franchise record of nine straight wins, which is quite something given the Oilers boasted Hall of Famers Wayne Gretzky, Mark Messier, Paul Coffey and Grant Fuhr on the same roster during their dynasty years of the late 1980s.

Here we look at the longest winning streaks in NHL history and the teams who put them together.

SeasonTeamNumber of wins
1992-93Pittsburgh Penguins17
2023-24Edmonton Oilers16
2016-17Columbus Blue Jackets16
2012-13Pittsburgh Penguins15
2005-06 & 2006-07Buffalo Sabres15
1981-82New York Islanders15
2022-23 & 2023-24Boston Bruins14
2020-21 & 2021-22Florida Panthers14
2009-10Washington Capitals14
1929-30Boston Bruins14

1992-1993 Pittsburgh Penguins

The record the Oilers are trying to beat belongs to the 1992-93 Pittsburgh Penguins, who compiled a 17-game winning streak on their way to claiming the Presidents' Trophy.

Penguins legend Mario Lemieux put up figures of 69 goals and 91 assists for 160 points despite missing 24 games of the regular season with Hodgkin's disease in an incredible year.

The streak ran from March 9 to April 10, 1993, and even then didn't end in defeat as they tied 6-6 after overtime against the New Jersey Devils.

It wasn't to be Pittsburgh's year ultimately, as they fell in game seven of the Division finals to the New York Islanders.

2023-24 Edmonton Oilers

Connor McDavid's storied career still lacks a Stanley Cup but he appears to be writing another chapter in his legend as the OIlers have powered to a 16-game win streak that started on December 21, 2023.

The team's fortunes seem to have been transformed since Kris Knoblauch took over as head coach, but as of the All-Star break, they still lie 12 points shy of Pacific Division leaders Vancouver following a disastrous start to the regular season.

The winning streak was snapped in a 3-1 loss to the Vegas Golden Knights on February 6, 2024.

2016-17 Columbus Blue Jackets

The remarkable thing about the Blue Jackets' 16-game win streak from November 2016 to January 2017 is that it came somewhat out of the blue.

The team had missed the playoffs the previous two seasons and went 3-3-1 in October before picking up drastically in November and posting a perfect 14-0-0 record in December.

Columbus' season somewhat petered out as they lost four of their five games in April before bowing out 4-1 to Pittsburgh in the first round of the playoffs.

2012-2013 Pittsburgh Penguins

The Pens' second entry on this list came between March 2 and April 2, 2013, in a regular season that was shortened to 48 games due to a lockout.

The 15-game winning run helped Dan Bylsma become the fastest coach in NHL history to reach 200 wins.

However, during the 15th straight victory - a 4-0 win over Winnipeg - captain Sidney Crosby suffered a broken jaw which would see him miss the rest of the season, and the Penguins lost their next game, 4-1 to Buffalo.

2005-06 & 2006-07 Buffalo Sabres

The Sabres enjoyed their best ever season to date in 2005-06, winning a franchise record 52 games and making the playoffs for the first time in five years.

They ended the regular season winning their last five games and made it to the conference finals before losing in game seven to eventual Stanley Cup champions the Carolina Hurricanes.

The Sabres began the following season 10-0 and claimed the Presidents' Trophy that year but again lost in the Eastern Conference Finals, this time to the Ottawa Senators. 

1981-82 New York Islanders

The Islanders set the benchmark in the early eighties under Hall of Fame coach Al Arbour and from January 21 to February 20, 1982, they put together a then-record 15-game winning streak in an era before overtime was introduced in regular-season NHL games.

The Isles, led by Mike Bossy, claimed the Presidents' Trophy by seven points that season and swept the Vancouver Canucks in the Stanley Cup Finals to become the last team to complete a cup three-peat.  

2022-23 & 2023-24 Boston Bruins

The Bruins broke all kinds of NHL records with their stunning 2022-23 regular season which ended with eight straight wins. But following a first-round playoff exit and the departure of several key players in the off-season including captain Patrice Bergeron, expectations were dramatically lowered going into the new campaign.

But the Bs started with a bang, winning their first six games before suffering a 4-3 OT defeat to Anaheim on October 26.

2020-21 & 2021-22 Florida Panthers

The foreshortened 2020-21 season, played behind closed doors, saw the Florida Panthers go unbeaten in their final six regular-season games, only to lose in the first round of the playoffs to the eventual Stanley Cup champion Tampa Bay Lightning.

They began the following season 8-0-0, losing their winning streak in a shootout to the Boston Bruins on October 30, 2021. 

The Panthers compiled a 13-game winning streak later the same season, but again found the Lightning too good in the playoffs, being swept 4-0 in the second round.

2009-10 Washington Capitals

Eight days after naming Alex Ovechkin their new captain, the Capitals embarked on a 14-game unbeaten run stretching from January 13 to February 7, 2010, which helped them to secure a first Presidents' Trophy in franchise history.

They topped the Eastern COnference by 18 points that year, but fell in the first round of the playoffs, losing game seven 2-1 to the Montreal Canadiens.

1929-30 Boston Bruins

At a time when the rules were still being fine-tuned, the Boston Bruins dominated the 1929-30 season right up until a surprise Stanley Cup Finals loss to Montreal.

Among their record 38 regular-season wins, the Bruins put together a 14-game victory run that would not be equalled for more than 50 years.

1991-92 & 1992-1993 Pittsburgh Penguins

The title of the longest postseason winning streak belongs in part to the same Pittsburgh Penguins side who top the regular-season charts.

The Pens went into the season they won 17 straight regular-season games as Stanley Cup champions, having won their final 11 games of the 1992 playoffs, coming from 2-1 down in the series to beat the New York Rangers in six games before sweeping the Bruins and Chicago Blackhawks to claim their second straight cup.

They opened their 1992-93 postseason by winning their first three games against New Jersey to take their playoff win streak to a record 14.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

in Bonus Bets
BET $10
in Bonus Bets
Join Now
Deposit required (min $10). Paid in Bonus Bets. Bonus Bets wager excluded from returns. New customers only. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply. View Full Terms and Conditions.