Skip to content
iGaming Ontario
en-ca GO TO bet365 Sports
Sports Stadium
  1. Soccer
  2. Premier League

Premier League - Football: Erling Haaland, Mo Salah and Kevin De Bruyne top PFA Player of the Year betting

Erling Haaland is the 6/1 favourite to win the PFA Player of the Year following his summer move to Manchester City.

However he does have a bit of history to overcome if he is to win the award, with Ruud van Nistelrooy the only player to win PFA Player of the Year in their first season in the Premier League.

Mo Salah did win the award upon his return to the Premier League, when he was irresistable, scoring 32 goals and registering 10 assists – since the turn of the century, no player has reached 30 goals and not won PFA Player of the Year, with the exception of Harry Kane, whose 30 goals happened to be in the same season as Salah’s debut campaign for Liverpool.

Related Premier League News

Premier League - Football: Could Nottingham Forest do a Leicester?

Premier League - Football: City begin title defence at West Ham

Premier League - Football: All You Need to Know about 2022/23

Premier League - Football: Liverpool new man Darwin Nunez 12/1 to score 25 or more

The Egyptian is second favourite at 7/1, though defending his crown will be no easy feat. Salah is nearing 600 senior appearances and turned 30 in June, and it’s not impossible we’ve seen the best of him.

His performances in the second half of last season may well put a few punters off too. The first 20 games of the campaign saw Salah notch up a ridiculous 25 goal contributions, leaving him as a short odds-on favourite for the award last January, but the two-time winner seemed to suffer from a bit of an AFCON hangover, with just 11 goal contributions in the final 15 games.

But having signed a new contract, Reds fans will hope he comes back refreshed and ready to go in August.

Previous winners

1992/93Paul McGrath
1993/94Eric Cantona
1994/95Alan Shearer
1995/96Les Ferdinand
1996/97Alan Shearer
1997/98Dennis Bergkamp
1998/99David Ginola
1999/00Roy Keane
2000/01Teddy Sheringham
2001/02Ruud van Nistelrooy
2002/03Thierry Henry
2003/04Thierry Henry
2004/05John Terry
2005/06Steven Gerrard
2006/07Cristiano Ronaldo
2007/08Cristiano Ronaldo
2008/09Ryan Giggs
2009/10Wayne Rooney
2010/11Gareth Bale
2011/12Robin van Persie
2012/13Gareth Bale
2013/14Luis Suarez
2014/15Eden Hazard
2015/16Riyad Mahrez
2016/17N'Golo Kante
2017/18Mo Salah
2018/19Virgil van Dijk
2019/20Kevin De Bruyne
2020/21Kevin De Bruyne
2021/22Mo Salah

Fellow two-time winner Kevin De Bruyne will be looking to make it three in the last four years, and is next in the betting at 8/1.

Unlucky to miss out to Salah in 2018, the brilliant Belgian struggled with a number of injuries the following season, limiting him to just 11 starts.

But he was back at his best in 2020, with 23 goal contributions from midfield, and even losing out on the title to Liverpool didn’t stop him winning the award, which he retained the following season, despite only making 23 starts, such was his impact when he was on the field.

Harry Kane is 10/1 to win a long-overdue PFA Player of the Year award. One of the Premier League’s all-time great goalscorers has reached 20 goals five times, with his lowest tally in the other three seasons being 17, yet he’s never quite done enough to get over the line, despite topping both the goalscoring and assist charts in 2020/2021.

But he was revitalised last season under Antonio Conte, and his injury problems may be behind him, missing just four games across the last two terms.

Cristiano Ronaldo, winner in 2007 and 2008 is 14/1 fifth favourite, but it remains unknown what kind of role he’ll play under Erik ten Hag. Now 37, it’s unlikely the Portuguese will play week-in, week-out, and despite still being a quality goalscorer, his overall game is miles off the standard he set back in 2007.

Premier League era trends to watch:

Only Thierry Henry, Ronaldo and De Bruyne have won the award in consecutive years.

The award has been won by three defenders, 12 midfielders and 15 forwards.

Of the 30 winners, only 13 won the title that season,

Of the 30 winners, only Van Nistelrooy managed it in his first season in the English top flight.

Of the 30 winners, eight won the Golden Boot in the same season.

Only Henry, Salah and De Bruyne have topped the assist charts and won PFA Player of the Year in the same season.

Click here for PFA Player of the Year odds

Discover more from the world's favourite online betting brand

More football betting news

Latest sports betting and odds

Watch football live streaming

Build a bet with bet builder

Latest football results

Join now - bet365 Open Account Offer

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $100 in Bet Credits

Join Now

Deposit required. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of qualifying bet. Returns exclude Bet Credits wager. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.